Worldwide Supplier of Parts and Accessories for Land Rover and Jeep Vehicles Allmakes 4x4 - Quality, Value and Performance

Terrafirma 4×4 Present Awards to Safari Championship Winners

Posted on: January 28, 2013 by megan

This weekend Terrafirma 4×4 were invited to the annual AWDC AGM Presentations at Woodland Grange Hotel in Leamington Spa.

Terrafirma 4×4 have sponsored The Safari Championships throughout 2012, and so we were given the honour of presenting the trophies to this year’s worthy winners!

The Safari Championships 2012 kicked off in March, providing a wide range of terrain at several different locations across the UK. It has seen some fantastic racing from people of all ages, and they are always keen to welcome more racers along. The first 2 rounds of the Terrafirma Safari Championship 2012 were shown on the Special Stage programme on Motors TV in May and was then televised a number of other times throughout the year, which has done wonders for their profile.

In true UK style, the weather wasn’t overly reliable; racers endured dry dusty droughts in Wales, and wet and windy conditions in Cambridgeshire. The tracks were dotted across locations included Glyn Neath in Wales, Doncaster, Cambridge and Minehead but changing weather conditions meant that some plans had to be changed along the way.

The AWDC AGM Presentations began with Directors Reports, including talks from Competition Secretary Steve Mitchell who gave us an overview of 2012 sporting achievements including the AWDC races. The Club Chairman Gwen Adair later said that she hopes the profile of off-road competition increases, and wants to spread the word about all of the fantastic work that goes into it. Gwen thanked Terrafirma 4×4 for sponsoring The Safari Championships 2012 and said that it had been a pleasure to have worked with us. Gwen also thanked everybody involved for racing with AWDC and for all the time and money that has been spent.

Next on the agenda was the election of the Committee, where we saw Simon Ward-Hastelow, editor of Land Rover World, getting elected as Magazine Editor for AWDC. The rest of the committee have each been elected to stay on for another year. We soon moved on to appreciation awards where Andy Degiulio received an award for Safari Official of the Year and others were thanked for their time and effort throughout the year.

Trial awards came next which ended with The Safari Championship winners, where our very own Charles Yang stood up to congratulate the winners on their efforts and thanked everyone for having us. The winners soon came up one by one to collect their trophies and Terrafirma merchandise, firstly shaking the hand of AWDC host, Bruce Tigwell, and then posing for a picture with Charles!

There were many worthy winners for each Class of the Championships, a big congratulations to everyone involed!

Overall winners were:

1st Steve Hiatt
2nd Andy Degiulio
3rd Greg Clement 

Terrafirma 4×4 are very proud to have sponsored such a fantastic off-roading competition like The Safari Championships, and wish them all the very best for 2013.

(Photographs from top to bottom: Megan Parry, Charles Yang and Steve Mitchell (Comp Secretary); 2nd place overall Andy Degiulio with Charles Yang)


The AWDC AGM Presentations 2013

Rounds 1 & 2 of The Terrafirma AWDC Championship 2012

© Allmakes 2004-2018        Follow us on Twitter Visit Allmakes4x4 Facebook page Join Allmakes4x4 LinkedIn group Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!Secured by RapidSSL